Castilho Lab

Laboratory of Epithelial Biology

LEARN MORE

ABOUT

Our laboratory focus on the understanding of the “histone code” in the context of tissue injury, chronic inflammatory diseases, and cancer biology. We explore the role of histone acetylation and chromatin remodeling in the control of epithelial functions, including healing, maintenance of epithelial homeostasis and stem cell function. We also explore the epigenetic-driven mechanisms involved in tumor resistance to chemotherapy and ionizing radiation and focus on the use of “epi-drugs” to counteract cancer-driven histone modifications.


castilho lab microscopic image
active gene silenced gene image

DIRECTOR

rogerio castilho

Rogerio Castilho, DDS, MS, PhD
Associate Professor of Dentistry

rcastilh@umich.edu | 734-647-2150

Rogerio M. Castilho is an Associate Professor (with tenure) at the Department of Periodontics and Oral Medicine, and the Associate Chair for the Division of Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology and Radiology at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry. Dr. Castilho earned his DDS from the Catholic University of Campinas, and his MS and Ph.D. from the University of Sao Paulo, Brazil. Dr. Castilho joined the prestigious National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) as a post-doctoral fellow for near 7 years.

At the NIH, Dr. Castilho developed conducted a series of studies on the molecular mechanisms involved in the maintenance of epithelial and oral mucosa homeostasis and wound healing along with cancer biology. Currently, Dr. Castilho focuses on translation research to improve healing of burned patients through the modulation of signaling pathways involved in cellular migration and proliferation. For over 9 years, Dr. Castilho has also explored epigenetic modifications in head and neck cancers including salivary gland tumors that can be pharmacologically targeted using new emerging epi-drugs.

PROJECTS

salivary gland tumors
ACC tumor organoids
Cancer Biology – Salivary Gland Tumors
head and neck squamous cell carcinoma
Cancer Biology – Head and Neck Squamous Cell Carcinoma (HNSCC)
periodonal disease
Epithelial Biology – Periodontal Disease
titanium toxicity
Epithelial Biology – Titanium Toxicity
Epithelial Biology – Wound Healing
Epithelial Biology – Wound Healing

Lab Tech Insights:

PUBLICATIONS

The most recent publications are reported below.


View the complete list

LAB PERSONNEL

rogerio castilho

Rogerio M. Castilho, DDS, MS, PhD

Principal Investigator

rcastilh@gmail.com

Carol Emericko

Carol Emerick

Visiting Scholar

caemeric@umich.edu

Luan Cesar

Luan Cesar

Visiting Scholar

luands@umich.edu

Joao Scarini

Joao Scarini

Visiting Scholar

joaofs@umich.edu

Caio Barros

Caio Barros

Visiting Scholar

dasilvab@umich.edu

Juliana Amorim

Juliana Amorim

Visiting Scholar

julasa@umich.edu

Elisa Furquim

Elisa Furquim

Visiting Scholar

elisafu@umich.edu

Gustavo Vieira

Gustavo Vieira

Visiting Scholar

gustavd@umich.edu

Ana Colafemina

Ana Colafemina

Visiting Scholar

anaco@umich.edu

Luccas Lavareze

Luccas Lavareze

Visiting Scholar

luccasl@umich.edu

Maria Leticia Lanca

Maria Leticia Lanca

Visiting Scholar

mariala@umich.edu

Mariana Pinto Ramos

Mariana Pinto Ramos

Visiting Scholar

marianp@umich.edu

Paulo Penafort

Paulo Penafort

Visiting Scholar

paulopen@umich.edu

LAB ALUMNI

Suzette D. Laing DDS, PhD
slaing@umich.edu

Leticia Drumond de Abreu Guimaraes
leticd@umich.edu

Carlos V. Nascimento Filho
cviesido@umich.edu

Luciana O. Almeida, PhD
lucianao@umich.edu

Allan Baker
aljbaker@umich.edu

Gabriell Bonifacio Borgato
gbonifac@umich.edu

Joao Artur Ricieri Brito, DDS, PhD
joaoarbrito@gmail.com

Carolina Siviero Dillenburg, DDS, MS
carolsd@gmail.com

Anusha Etikala
anushae@umich.edu

Darcy Fernandes
darcyf@umich.edu

Leticia Ferreira
lantunes@umich.edu

Eduardo J. Gaio, DDS, MS, PhD
egaio@umich.edu

Pablo Galindo-Moreno, DDS, PhD
pgalindo@ugr.es

Carlos Andres Garaicoa, DDS
garaicoa@umich.edu

Fernanda Giudice, DDS, MS
fernandagiudice@yahoo.com.br

Douglas M. Guimarães, DDS, PhD
douglas_guima@hotmail.com

Luciana Kauer, PhD
lukauer@umich.edu

Renata Markman

Manoela Domingues Martins, DDS, MS, PhD
manomartins@gmail.com

Marco Antonio Trevizani Martins, DDS, MS, PhD
marcotm@umich.edu

Cuong Nguyen
cpnguyen@umich.edu

Ana Carolina Pellicioli, DDS, MS
anacarolinapellicioli@gmail.com

Leonardo Reis

Aaron Shin
akshin@umich.edu

Tobias Rauber Spuldaro
traubers@umich.edu

Fernando Suarez Lopez del Amo, DDS
fsuarez@umich.edu

Kellen Tjioe, DDS, MS, PhD
ktjioe@umich.edu

Vivian Petersen Wagner, DDS, MS
petersev@umich.edu

Liana Preto Webber, DDS, MS
lpretowe@umich.edu

CONTACT

Castilho Lab
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
1011 N. University, Room 2228 A, B, C,
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1078
734-647-2150 | rcastilh@umich.edu
castilho lab group